Missing man found
An 84-year-old man was found Monday afternoon in the Critz area after he walked away from the residence where he was staying, according to Sheriff Dan Smith.
The Patrick County Sheriff's Office received the call from the man's caretaker at approximately 1:20 p.m. indicating that the man, who suffers from dementia, had walked away from the home.
Smith said that about 20 first responders from multiple agencies responded and began searching.
"The man was found approximately one mile from his residence in a thick cut-over," said sheriff's Lt. Rob Coleman.
Coleman said a Virginia State Police helicopter located the man at 4:20 p.m.
"This is the second time in three years that the state police helicopter has found one of our lost," Smith said. "We are extremely grateful."
The sheriff extends thanks to the following agencies who assisted the sheriff's office in the search and recovery effort: the Virginia State Police, the Patrick County Office of Emergency Management, J.E.B. Stuart Rescue Squad, and the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries.